262 was one of a batch of trolleybuses
that entered service in November 1949 & is unique in being the
only Welsh built Trolleybus left in the world! A slight exaggeration
perhaps but 262 has a BUT 9641T chassis with a body built by Bruce
Coachworks of Cardiff on East Lancs frames. She is also one of four
Bruce built buses left - the others being an ex-Eastbourne AEC Regent
III in the care of the City of Portsmouth Preserved Passenger Depot
(CPPD), a Bedwas & Machen AEC Regal and a Daimler (CVD6) new
to Swansea Motor Services (SWAN).
As a double decker, 262 unlike 243,
was not confined to one route & was used regularly all over
the system when she ran the last trip on the route 8 between Victoria
Park and the Royal Oak. After withdrawal at the end of April 1968
she was purchased for preservation by the Cardiff Trolleybus Society.